Welcome Member! Please Login...
  • Home
  • Member Login
  • Contact gsSCENE
Internal Main Header


2011 Kickin' it for Charity Kickball Champs!

May 10, 2011

May 7, 2011 marked the third year that the first Saturday in May has been taken over by kickball. A record 19 teams participated in the 3rd Annual Kickin’ it for Charity Kickball Tournament at Ripken Experience. The day started with check in at 9:30 a.m. and when the day ended at 7 p.m. there was only one team left standing. Team Kick Buttowski came out of the losers bracket and played a consecutive seven games to beat Pitches Be Crazy, the only undefeated team in the tournament, with a score of 4-1.

Along with the number of teams rising, so did the number of unique team names. This year the tournament included the following teams, Balls to the Wall, Brittain resorts, Flip Flop’s Bar & Grill, Handley’s Pub, It’s Not Going to Kick Itself, Kick Tease, Kickelob Ultra, Kickin’ Catalyst, LUDCROUS SPEED, Native Sons, One Kick Wonders, Our Bases May Not Be Loaded, But We Are, Pitches Be Crazy, Progresssive Physical Therapy, Rockin’ Reefers, Straight Up Kickballin’, Swift Kick in the Grass, Team Kick Buttowski and WMBF Ball Busters. But more important that the number or names of teams, was the amount of money raised for the gsSCENE chosen charity, Substitutes for Santa. This year a high of $3,600 was raised and this will give 36 kids from the Loris and Myrtle Beach Community an opportunity to have a Christmas experience they wouldn’t have received.

A huge thanks to all volunteers and player who came out to support this growing tournament. Look for the 4th Kickin’ it for Charity Kickball Tournament in May 2012! And congratulations to Team Kick Buttowski!

Team Kick Buttowski was made up of 14 players- Sara Hardee, Ashley P. Smith, Jason Smith, Molly Piercy, Brian Piercy, Bradley Taylor, Tosca Norman, Jason Weaver, Dave Cassidy, Karin Westerberg, John Letsen, Kristen Westerberg, Adam Paskanik & Eric Westerberg.

Special thanks to Eileen Soisson, Julie Kopnicky and Blakely Jenkins for organizing and running the event!